It was a no-brainier: Why journalism is the path for me?

I was two things as a kid, curious and an attention hog. I was always sticking my nose into other people’s business and I loved when people talked about me. Luckily I grew out of that as time went on, but those habits matured into a passion to tell stories.

The first time I saw, By Caitlin Patrick, in the paper, I felt butterflies in my stomach, I knew that it was something I wanted to do for the rest of my life. When I graduated and started college, my professors always asked me where I wanted to end up in the industry, I would say conflict writing. Boy has that change since then.

Two important things I learned about hard-hitting journalism and conflict reporting, was that you have to have really hard skin and cold blood and that no story is worth dying for. These two things hit me really hard and I started looking for a new path. During this time I seriously doubted myself in my program, I thought about dropping out almost everyday, but I pulled threw when I finally decided what story I wanted to tell.

I want to start this next part off my saying, I’ve been a fan of NASCAR for a few years now, but didn’t really get into it until the summer before I started college. I found an appreciation for the sport that I hadn’t seen before and a beauty in the way they raced. So the summer after my first year of college, my family and I went to the June race at the Michigan International Speedway, and I fell in love with it all over again.

The dedication that the fans had, the atmosphere of the race, the beauty that was 40 cars all racing at 200 miles per hour, only inches from each other, and my favourite, the feeling you get when those 40 cars go from 70 to 200 miles in under five seconds and you can feel the vibrations in your core. That weekend I decided, I would do what ever it takes to become apart of that, every weekend. I had finally found my calling and really it was a no-brainer.

 

Leave a Reply

